How to return to SwitchCase from deep within code

Hi,

I am fairly new to the Arduino and i am building an Escape Room Puzzle, because it is fun and it helps me explore the Arduinos possibilities.

The puzzle that I am working on has several phases, which I mapped out as Cases in a Swith board.

One of these cases is a Morse Code.

switch (puzzleState) { 

case Morsing:
     Serial.println("Enter: Morsing");
     {
      morse();
      onlight();
      break;
     }

Morse is basicly the different letters I want to get send

void morse(){

morseCodeSequence("-...");
    morseCodeSequence("....");
}

These letters are first being sequenced

void morseCodeSequence(char* sequence){
   int i = 0;   
   // Loop for each element in the array
   while (sequence[i] != NULL){
      dotOrDash(sequence[i]);     // Send out the dot or dash
      i++;                        // Increment to the next element in the array
   }
   delay(dotDelay * 3);  // gap between letters  
}

and within the sequence there is a code to actually send the signal to a LED.

void dotOrDash(char dotOrDash){
  digitalWrite(MorsePin, HIGH);
  if (dotOrDash == '.')
  {
    delay(dotDelay);
    Serial.print(".");          
  }
  else // must be a -
  {
    delay(dotDelay * 3); 
    Serial.print("-");          
  }   
  delay(dotDelay*2  ); // gap between flashes
}

All of this works very fine.

The problem is: the morse code shall stop immidiatly, once the Puzzle Chest is being opened and light shines on a lightresistor.

Mesuring the Light etc. is done by that little script:

bool  WaitForLight(){
   // when the sensor is covered, this value rises. When it receives more light, it falls. 
  currentReading = analogRead(ldrPin);
  delay(1000); // Slow down the output
  //if the chest si opened, some light will flow onto the sensor,
  //indicating that the puzzle is ready to be initialized
  return (currentReading < lightThreshhold);
}