How to run 8 nema 17 motors on one program.

Hey everyone,

I am new to to using arduino. I started with the arduino uno, cnc shield v3, and a DRV8825 drivers. I was able to run all 4 motors on the same program independently. the only reason I got this setup was for learning how to program. I am now looking to control 6 nema motors and 12 pistons. sounds wild I know but it gets simplified. I am moving 3 separate plates each plate will have 2 nema 17 motors driving them up and down. On a stationary plate I will have 4 12v pistons that will all actuate at the same time and same speed. I will have another plate with 8 12v pistons on it that will actuate at the same time and same speed.

so an easier way to look at it is like this

Plate 1: 2 nema 17 motors both drive the plate up (step-1)

plate 2: 2 nema 17 motors both drive the plate down (step-2)

plate 3: 2 nema motors both drive the plate up (step-3)

Plate 4: actuates 4 12v pistons at the same time (step-4)

plate 5: actuates 8 pistons at the same time (step-5)

Any help would be awesome if this is unclear I can make a drawing of the plates and how everything is moving. My big issue is trying to figure out how to drive all the components with one controller. Again I knew the cnc shield would not be able to do what I wanted I was using it just for a learning tool.

You can just about connect 8 x DRV8825 drivers to an Uno - that will require 16 I/O pins and you can use the analog pins as digital pins. However it might be better to use a Mega which has a lot more I/O pins.

If you need a high step rate for all of the motors at the same time you may find that a 16MHz Arduino struggles to keep up.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

You can wire several steppers to a single stepper driver if the A windings are in series and the B windings
are in series.

Since stepper drivers control the current this will give each motor full drive (assuming enough supply
voltage).