How to run a Compressed Air Engine using Adruino?

Bear with me as I am a mechanical engineer major, but have almost no background in the programming/software side of engineering. This project would be for my senior design.

I'm looking to convert a 4 cyl engine which would run off of Compressed Air. It would use a series of 120v solenoids to fire the Air at the different rates depending on the piston position.

I want to use an Arduino to fire the solenoids at the correct points of the stroke. I was thinking of using some exponential function to work with the delay between the 1&4 solenoids and 2&3 solenoids when the RPMS increase. There is also the possibility of using the crankshaft position sensor already built into the engine, having arduino read it and basically act as a relay to fire the solenoids. There is the possibility of also wanting to use an external potentiometer to increase the "throttle" (rate of solenoid fire/valve controlling air pressure to solenoids) on demand.

Now since I have never used an Arduino before, I am not sure of where to start. I have found projects like 2JZduino who uses an Arduino Mega to control supercharger boost, but I feel like his application is much more advanced then mine.

Any guidance of which Arduino to use and how to write the program would be great. I am willing to learn and will catch on quick.

Thank you for taking your time to read this, Austin

I'm looking to convert a 4 cyl engine which would run off of Compressed Air. It would use a series of 120v solenoids to fire the Air at the different rates depending on the piston position.

Are you sure your solenoids can fire fast enough? I think you might want to characterize what kind of response you can get from them before going too much further.

There is also the possibility of using the crankshaft position sensor already built into the engine, having arduino read it and basically act as a relay to fire the solenoids.