How to send simple commands to arduino nano 33 ble from phone bluetooth app with buttons

I'm new to bluetooth on arduino (and in general), and I'd like to get some pointers on how to approach something that I would consider quite simple.

I have the simple peripheral examples working (battery monitor and LED). I used the "nRF Connect" app on my Android phone to connect and read the battery data, or turn on/off the LED. All good and well.

This is great for demonstrating the capability and for debugging the buetooth connection. But if I want to control a robot (forward, reverse, turn right, turn left, etc.), I don't see myself typing a 1 or a 0 in the form every time. Of course one could write an app for Android, but I would hope that if I don't need anything fancy, there should be an app out there that allows you to assign buttons and automate sending the values?

It seemed that the Adafruit Bluefruit Connect app does just that, but it requires a UART connection to the bluetooth module. That's standard for the Adafruit bluetooth modules, but the Arduino nano 33 BLE does not do that.

I also tried the "Serial Bluetooth Terminal", but it requires a serial connection through bluetooth. After reading a few posts it seems that I could do that, but that's not the most optimal way of transmitting data over BLE.

So I'm a little loss here. Can someone give me a few pointers on what direction I should take?
I don't mind a steep learning curve, but I'd like to make sure I'm climbing the right hill! :wink:

Thanks,
Ben

OK the simple way install my free pfodDesigner app and use it to generate the Arduino code for you for a nano33BLE
Then you can either use my paid pfodApp OR just use Nordic's nRF UART app to send the commands expected.
The pfod commands all look like {... } See the spec for all the details
If you want something simpler you can remove the pfodParser code from the Arduino sketch and just read the text coming from the BLE serial connection and act on that