How to sniff commands send over UART (I think)

Hi guys, I’m new to this whole Arduino world. But I’ve got a project underway now and I’m stuck more or less at the beginning.

Some background info:
About 6 years ago, a high-end branch of a certain car audio company produced a line of equipment which was intended to be used as a single system. This included the main receiver (CD head unit) and some audio processors which communicated digitally by a 12 pin proprietary cable and a cable called “DVD audio” which is just firewire. (The fire wirewas for transmitting 5.1 signal I believe.) The branch was dismissed due to lack of consumer interested and a hurting American economy. So support and development for these audio processors effectively ground to a halt and the company has expressed no interest in booting it back up again (I know this because I have some acquaintances inside the company).

The processors are really fantastic so I would like to use them in my vehicle. But the head unit has become dated. And unfortunately, the processors ONLY work with the ONE deck that the company released before they disbanded.

So what does this have to do with my project? Well, I would like to use an Arduino to replace the old head unit, and allow myself to connect more modern units to my audio processors.

The first thing I want to be able to do is simply communicate with the processors and send basic commands. I expect that there is an initial handshake between the deck and processors and I have also determined a couple of things about the cable itself.

The cable contains 9 wires. There are two twisted pairs, and the rest are untwisted.
Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to see anything of value when I hooked my portable O-Scope to the wires, so I decided to connect the wires to the RCA inputs of an old amplifier I had lying around. From this, I was able to identify some things that “sound” digital, and some wires which are carrying audio.