How to supply power to 6 sensors on Duemilanove

Hi

This is probably a stupid question but i'm new to this.

I want to connect 6 Sharp IR sensors to my Duemilanove, but not sure how to Ground and Power them all, it seems like there are only 2 ground pins and 3 power......am i missing something?

Many thanks in advance

Yeah, they are all connected together anyway. Just connect all the power and ground pins together.

Mowcius

Thanks for the quick reply i'm kinda pushed for time on this

So do you mean solder all the powers together, or split them 3 and 3 and plug them into one or two power sockets? and do the same for ground

Thanks again

It makes no difference.

If you look at the board carefully you will see that all of the ground pins are connected together on the board.

Therefore it does not matter which one you plug them into as you are effectively plugging them all into the same one even if you plug them into 'different ones' on the board.

Mowcius

Hi

thanks for the info, i've done what you said and connected all powers and grounds to two pins, but now i've got another problem!

When all the sensors are connected the current is drained, my mac says that the arduino is using to much power from the usb port! it says on the arduino site that there is 40mA per i/o pin and the sensor spec is 30 mA per sensor....so it should be alright?

Can anyone think of a way to get around this?

Any help would be much appreciated

Hmm, I would have thought that it would be ok through the USB port. I recommend you supply it through the DC jack then. 7-12V 'wall wort' would be best. Something 500mA or above also would be best. See if that sorts the problem. Is it only the sensors plugged into the arduino?

Mowcius

Yea just the sensors. I'll try what you said and see if it works

Thanks a lot for your help

Hi would something like this be best

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=226

and just plug it into the arduino then use the pins as normal?

Thanks again