How to test arduino mega

Ok, I have never used arduino before, but after what happen today I think I have to learn how it works, and I hope someone can give my some advices.

Case,
I have a car and inside the trunk there is an arduino mega, which handles open/close the boot cover. Right now, the boot cover is stuck and wont open, and I cant open in any manual way(no handles etc to do this, the car is modified from the previous owner). The only way in is through a button connected to the arduino inside the trunk, which is not working.

I cant get the arduino out of the car, but I can connect to the arduino through USB, and I have connected through Arduino IDE. It seems to work.

Two questions

1. Is it possible to make any diag of the board, or the software on the board without have the source code? Meaning, if I write any new code to the board, I dont have the ones thats on the board now.

2. Can I test the program/board, through the IDE, so I can see if its the button that is broken, or something with the board?

Before I start digging, whats my options?

A arduino on it's own won't do much. As long you don't know what is hooked up to it or how it's hooked up to your car's electrical system there is not much to be done. Go to the garage and have them open up your trunk

john121212:

1. Is it possible to make any diag of the board, or the software on the board without have the source code? Meaning, if I write any new code to the board, I dont have the ones thats on the board now.

You can download the compiled program from the board, but it's not possible to do so via the Arduino IDE. Instead, you'd need to run avrdude from the command line. You would also need to use avrdude from the command line to upload the downloaded program back to the board.

john121212:
2. Can I test the program/board, through the IDE, so I can see if its the button that is broken, or something with the board?