How to test if an led exists.

My apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I have a simple circuit. An arduino pro mini. 8, 10 or 16 LEDs and their resistors connected to the pro mini. One per pin. And an ldr to check light level to initiate the led sequence.

My question is: Is it possible for the arduino to test which pins are connected to an led and which aren't?

In other words. If I have a single program on all of the arduinos and the arduino self configures itself for an 8 10 or 16 led sequence. Just means I don't have to change the program for each led configuration.

BTW. I can't use the ldr mentioned above as it's out of sight of the LEDs.

I don't want to add additional by hardware.

Thanks.

Jason.

You can use one analog input and different voltage dividers to get the info on what you plugged in, assuming you have some circuit board that you plug in and not individual LEDs.

Hello Jason

I'm new to arduino but I have worked with Atmel processors in the past. The solution I always used was to configure the output pins as inputs first, there is nothing in the documentation limiting this action to the setup loop and should work. With the pin as input; read the value of the pin, here you will have to experiment with your setup to determine if the pin will be pulled high or low.

After you have read the value you can reconfigure the pin to become an output to drive the LED's.

I hope this helps.

If the pin controlling it is an ADC pin, just set the pin input_pullup, then analogRead the value, if it's not close to 1024, there's something on the pin.

But you can only do that on pins with an ADC....

the LED's are 'additional hardware'

you have additional hardware of an 8 LED set you have additional hardware of 2 more LED's to make 10 or you have additional hardware of 8 more LED's to make 16.

if the choices are strictly and only 8, 10 or 16,