How to track the cat in my flat?

Hey there, i'm new to this and thanks to my brother who bought me a starter-kit i am hooked to arduino :)

so, since i have a mentally ill cat (that's also deaf and bad sightened - adopted it after he was getting hit by a car) that is behaving awkwardly (but in the fun way), i wanted to see how often he is going through the whole flat in one day.

i have 5 possible rooms he could walk in. i need two receivers or transmitter per room (for two possible coordinates, oh, he can't jump either) for tracing him theoretically.

do you have any ideas what would be the best (and not tooo expensive) solution? my idea would be one receiver (arduino) on the cat-collar and transmitter in each room. but what signal could be good to use? rf? but therefore i would need a transmitter (10 frequencies?) that would lose the signal pretty fast (largest room: 5m long, smallest room: 1m wide), or do i? another idea could be two arduinos in each room with a receiver and one collar with a transmitter. but the same problem with the signal strength. my highly scientific researches brought to rfid, to be accurate, uhf-rfid. but do these have enough accuracy (wiki said that these ranges from 3-6m)? could i use oscillators too? do you have any suggestions?

so many questions... any help is appreciated. thank you in advance and have a nice evening!

Well - first you need to take the tire off the rim...

/couldn't resist :D

Have you taken it to a veterinarian?

well, that was not that kind of help i wanted, but thanks :) yes i was, my flatmate worked at one and the cat is somewhat well. just damaged from the accident. he is crazy for rubs and goes to the vet periodicly (or however it is called) he seems pretty satisfied with his live here :)