How to transmit data over long distances using WiFi

Hey all,

I previously posted this in networking as I didn't see this channel.

I am pretty new to all this so if you have any tips/links/etc to share please do as they will all be very much appreciated.

My goal is to collect data from various sensors based around my property (farm).

I have found the Flutter wireless chip (http://flutterwireless.com) that has 1km line of sight wifi however some of the sensors will be up to 6km away and are not line of sight.

This means that I will need multiple points to relay the data along. I realise that I could set up multiple Raspberry Pis to collect and transmit the data but as everything will need to be solar powered I was hoping to achieve it with Arduinos.

Cheers, Damian

The Raspberry Pi doesn't ship with any in-built wireless capabilities.

The first thing to consider is choosing an operating frequency that is legal in your country. The Flutter device uses 915MHz. In my country this has been allocated to the cellular phone companies who pay large licensing fees to the government, and will come knocking on your door if you cause interference.

6 km, with no line of sight, is extremely difficult for an unlicensed wireless operation. I am under the impression that it is very difficult to get over 1 km line of sight range for any commercially available modules that operate in the unlicensed bands, so you will have to consider several repeaters, each one failure prone.

You may know about the this NZ installation, but that is 300 m and line of sight, which is pretty trivial.

6km is a stretch for tinkering with anything, so you might as well use GPRS shields, secure in the knowledge that you can get it right first time, no relaying required, and you can actually stay on the right side of the law.

Another option is satellite. For very limited data uploads, the RoadBlock system is surprisingly inexpensive.