How to trigger-sync camera video frames from arduino?

I'm a more-or-less advanced MCU programmer and user: can anyone shed some light (pardon the pun!) on how best to record camera frames (at the highest possible shutter speed) which are synchronized to an external event?

I want to record "stopped motion" for propeller analysis, a bit like these guys do: https://youtu.be/N3WwQKZ05Uk?t=139

I'm seeking advice on the camera hardware that might be needed. I'll be using a hall sensor on the motor shaft and FETs to trigger the strobe and camera, then grabbing and writing the frame data to an SD card (and using perl+FFMPEG to assemble them into a video later on my PC). If a 328p isn't fast enough, I'll move to ESP32 or better - but for now - knowing the right camera to use is where my skills are non-existent.

Looks like you need a high-speed camera and a LOT of light. How many frames per second? The cheapest Phantom camera is about $25,000.

Hi John,

It's the shutter speed that's important, not the frame rate - I don't care about the frames, even 1 per second is enough, this is a periodic motion, so more-or-less every frame will appear identical (imagine "freezing" the water from a dripping tap with a strobe - it doesn't matter how many drips you miss, so long as every time the flash goes off, they're all in the right place)

The "lot of light" is easy - a strobe should do. LEDs are easier, but strobe might give more intense light for the tiny amount of time I need. I'm hoping for a fraction of a millimeter movement on things going almost the speed of sound.

I'm aware of the high-frame-rate camera costs, yes, and that's out of my budget... but what about high shutter speed stuff - got any ideas ?

I don’t see why a 328 shouldn’t work, but I’d be inclined to not use the full Arduino framework, so you can have complete control, without timer interrupts messing up the timing

cndg: It's the shutter speed that's important, not the frame rate