How to turn off Loop program with bluetooth

Hi,
I am making program where I want to be able to control the RGB Led with bluetooth. When I press ‘on’ on my phone the Led lights up and keeps changing to random colors. This works fine But I cant make it to stop when I press ‘off’

Instead of exit(0), I tried turning all three digitalpins(9,10,11) to off but also does not work.

Turning on and off without the randomColor() function works, but i want the led to keep working till turned off.
Any ideas please. I am very new to this.

int ledDigitalOne[] = {9, 10, 11};

const boolean ON = LOW;     
const boolean OFF = HIGH;  

//Predefined Colors
const boolean CYAN[] = {ON, OFF, OFF}; 
const boolean RED[] = {OFF, ON, ON};    

char data = 0; 

const boolean* COLORS[] = {CYAN, RED, WHITE, BLUE, YELLOW, GREEN,  MAGENTA};

void setup(){
   Serial.begin(9600); 
   for(int i = 0; i < 3; i++){
   pinMode(ledDigitalOne[i], OUTPUT);   //Set the three LED pins as outputs
  }
}

void loop()
{
   if(Serial.available() > 0)      
   {
      data = Serial.read();       
      Serial.print(data);         
      Serial.print("\n");        
      if(data == 'a') {            

randomColor();   

}

else if(data == 'b')  {      
         exit(0);
      }
   }
}

void randomColor(){
 for(int i = 0; i <= 1000; i++){
     int rand = random(0, sizeof(COLORS) / 2);  //without for loop only 1 color comes & i want blinking 
     setColor(ledDigitalOne, COLORS[rand]);  
     delay(500);
   } 
}

void setColor(int* led, boolean* color){
 for(int i = 0; i < 3; i++){
   digitalWrite(led[i], color[i]);
 }
}

You need to hold the received character in a variable when new data is available from the serial port and that is all. Then next in the loop look at that variable and decide what to do depending on that variables value. Do not use exit. Remember the loop function keeps on being repeatedly run.

As you have it at the moment you only ever do stuff when a new serial data value is received.