How to turn on electromagnet with Arduino Uno?

Hey everyone. I'm new with Arduino and I'm excited to start building. I'm in a competition called Science Olympiad and I'm building a Rube Goldberg machine. I would like to implement an Arduino One to activate a electromagnet that I made. To my understanding, the Arduino can only supply up to 500 mA, which is obviously not sufficient for an electromagnet. I understand that I would have to use two power supplies, one for the Arduino and one for the electromagnet, but I am not sure how to set this up. I don't know much about relays, but from some quick searches, it seems like I could use an Arduino to switch on the relay, which would turn on the electromagnet circuit. If you have information or other ideas, please let me know! I appreciate your help, and thank you.

tarembrandt:
Hey everyone. I'm new with Arduino and I'm excited to start building. I'm in a competition called Science Olympiad and I'm building a Rube Goldberg machine. I would like to implement an Arduino One to activate a electromagnet that I made. To my understanding, the Arduino can only supply up to 500 mA, which is obviously not sufficient for an electromagnet. I understand that I would have to use two power supplies, one for the Arduino and one for the electromagnet, but I am not sure how to set this up. I don't know much about relays, but from some quick searches, it seems like I could use an Arduino to switch on the relay, which would turn on the electromagnet circuit. If you have information or other ideas, please let me know! I appreciate your help, and thank you.

First the Arduino can supply nowhere near 500ma. You might quickly get 50ma from a single pin, but not for long. They are made for controlling voltage, not supplying current.

Second, when you tested the electromagnet, how much current did it draw and what voltage did you use? How long did you leave it connected? Did it get hot?

What power supplies do you have available?