How to use 74LS138 or 74HC595 to muliplex two I2C signals?

Hello folks. I should begin by saying that I have some experience with Arduino, basic experience with I2C, and no experience with multiplexing.

What I have is two magnetometers which both utilise I2C, and an Arduino that can only read one I2C at once. Because the magnetometers are the exact same (and I can't edit the address of either) I am resorting to multiplexing to toggle between the two when need be.

The issue with this is that I have no idea what I'm doing. I have access to both the 74HC595N and T74LS138B1, and was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers as to how to actually use them. I can find plenty of resources on using them as outputs, but how to I use them as inputs for two I2C components, and how do I change which is outputted from the multiplexer at any given time.

Cheers in advance!

You won't be able to use those parts to cross connect and select between two i2c buses.
If you have a couple of extra pins you could run two separate buses by using a software i2c library:
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/SoftwareI2CLibrary

--- bill

This question is of interest to me as well.

Is there a chip that can be used to multiplex I2C signals?

Here’s a thought straight off the top of my head… YMMV and it might be total crap but here it is:

Use a small transistor to switch one or other of the I2C SDA/SCL lines on each device. Each transistor base would be under the control of an i/o pin, and the logic would have only one base and therefore only one device active at a time.

Pic below is kind of what I have in mind.

Or… look for hardware with settable addresses :stuck_out_tongue:

Both SDA and SCL are open drain as both the master and the slave can pull them down.
You could something similar by sharing the SCL lines and then using an analog switch (which is bi-directional)
instead of transistor to select which bus to use.

--- bill

Won't work.