how to use a mac to connect to a ethernet server

Hi Guys, I have used the ethernet shield and connected via the router to the internet and obtained an IP address. The Arduino with the shield is connected in 1 room and I want to connect to it as in the example "DHCPChatServer"

I have tried using the terminal on the MAC but I am not able to connect to the server

I am really sorry if this a dummy question, but this is a project started during lockdown and I would like to finish it and be able to control the Arduino via the internet if possible (I know it is, if I am able to)

is your Mac / PC on the same network ?

the documentation states

Software Required

A telnet server
Alternatively, Processing has a ChatServer example that works well for this purpose

what did you setup ?

as client you could use probably ssh in terminal

Hi Thanks for the reply

yes the MAC is connected via WiFi and the Arduino via Ethernet cable to the router. I am new to this so it might be I don’t understand your question correctly so bare with me

also I did try ssh in the terminal window,

ssh 192.168.0.65 for example and I get this message “connect to host 192.168.0.65 port:22 Operation Timed Out”

also i i open the terminal and right click and use "new remote connection" there us a option "Remote Login (Telnet)" but when i use this and give the IP address of the server i get this error

[Command not found: telnet]

[Could not create a new process and open a pseudo-tty.]

this example is super old and telnet is no longer part of many distribution as totally insecure

either you re-install telnet on your machine I'm sure there are tutorials for this on line or you go and use ssh and update the code to become secure.

the basic shell command for connection should be

ssh 192.168.0.65 [color=red]-p 23[/color] (as the port on the arduino is 23, which is telnet default port)