How to use a Timer

Hey Guys,

I am new to this whole arduino thing, so I would appreciate a push in the right direction.

I am wanting to time how long the input is high in ms. Ultimitly I am wanting to time this value for the input digitalRead(13, HIGH)

So if pin13 is high for 250ms, then I will have a block of code that tuns for the if statement.

Thanks in advance.

I am wanting to time how long the input is high in ms.

The pulseIn function was designed for just this purpose.

Thanks for the help Paul. Could you let me know if I have the gist of this with the sample below?

int pin = 7; int pin2 = 8;

void setup() { pinMode(pin, INPUT); }

void loop() { duration1 = pulseIn(pin, HIGH); duration2 = pulseln(pin2, HIGH); if (duration1 == 2000) { digitalWrite(13, HIGH); } If (duration2 == 2000) { digitalWrite(14, HIGH); } }

int pin = 7;
int pin2 = 8;

If you are counting things, do you count "a sock, 2 socks, 3 socks, ..." or do you count "1 sock, 2 socks, 3 socks, ..."?

If you number one variable, you should number the other one, too.

pinMode(pin, INPUT);

If you declare one pin as input, you should declare the other as input, too.

duration1 = pulseIn(pin, HIGH);

duration1 and duration2 are not declared/typed anywhere.

if (duration1 == 2000)

I don't know what you are timing, but it is unlikely to take EXACTLY 2000 microseconds, whatever it is.

digitalWrite(13, HIGH);

You'll be disappointed with the results of setting an INPUT pin HIGH. Pins are INPUT by default. If you want to write to a pin, you should set it as an OUTPUT pin.

If you number one variable, you should number the other one, too.

Personally I don't a problem with this, but if they were both numbered I'd start from zero, then at a future point the code could be generalised to an array.

Thanks for the input Paul. I am wanting a certain function to run after pin7 has been high for 2ms.

int pin1 = 7;
int pin2 = 8;
int ledPin = 13;
int duration1;
int duration2;

void setup()
{