how to use millis instead of delay?

Hi there, my first post. i am very new to arduino and just start my first application. what i am trying to do is to control a valve with the use of a ardunion board and a servo. there are many valves and a servo for each. I want the some of the valve to stay open for, say half a second then close, and the other valves to repond to other digital inputs. now i tried to use the sample ‘sweep’ sketch, however the ‘delay’ function will put the whole thing to a stop, no other input can be processed. i found some posts suggesting the ‘millis’ will not put the program on hold, but i so far failed to find a sample to replace the ‘delay’ in the ‘sweep’ sketch.
the following is my sketch for 2 servos without digital inputs.

thank you for your help!

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo; // create servo object to control a servo
// a maximum of eight servo objects can be created
Servo myservo1;

int pos = 0; // variable to store the servo position

int potpin = 0; // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer

int val; // variable to read the value from the analog pin

void setup()
{
myservo.attach(9); // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
myservo1.attach(6);
}

void loop()
{
val = analogRead(potpin); // reads the value of the potentiometer (value between 0 and 1023)
val = map(val, 0, 1023, 500, 5000); // scale it to use it with the servo (value between 500ms and 5000ms)
{
for(pos = 25; pos < 125; pos +=125) // goes from 15 degrees to 68.2 degrees
{ // in steps of 45 degree
myservo.write(pos); // tell servo to go to position in variable ‘pos’
delay(500);
myservo1.write(pos);
delay(val);
}
for(pos = 125; pos>=125; pos-=65) // goes from 68.2 degrees to 15 degrees
{
myservo.write(pos); // tell servo to go to position in variable ‘pos’
delay(500);
myservo1.write(pos);
delay(val);
}
}
}

Hey there

delay() should work fine: Instead I would be looking closely at the for loops.

for(pos = 125; pos>=125; pos-=65)