How to use RS232 in that case?

Hi,

i am really new to Arduino and programming at all. I got a Pan-Tilt Unit-D46-70 (http://www.flir.com/mcs/view/?id=53712). I can tilt and pan the device without any problem using the serial interface via rs232.
Now i had the idea to create a little arduino sketch to use a Saintsmart LCD keypad shield to use it to tilt/pan the device in a certain time (to make timelapse recordings with dslr). I wrote a sketch wich sends the commands needed to move the pan/tilt thing.
But now i need to send these commands not to the serial interface of the arduino app, but to a real rs232 interface.

What hardware and software do i need, to send these commands to a “real” rs232 interface?

Thanks a lot!

PS.: here is the sketch, but like i said: i am really new to programming! Everything which is “Serial.print…” should be send to the rs232 interface… (attachment…)
PPS.: please tell me how to make the code “better” :wink: it looks waayy too long, but for now it works…

v1_menu.ino (10.6 KB)

Look for devices like the Maxim MAX232.

Hi,

thanks! is this what i am looking for? -- http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoSoftwareRS232

Pcace

Looks good to me as a place to start

Nice! But there is something i do not understand:

if i want to send something to the serial device, is there something like a handshake needed? I have no idea how to convert my serial.print() to "write.to.rs232"
So in short: is every RS232 device communicating the same way (besides the baudrate)? Or are there differences? If yes, how do i find that out?

Or is there a library i can use for that?

Thanks,

Pcace

PS.: btw, thanks for moving the topic to the right subforum!

You'll need to check the specification of the device you're connecting to.
Things to look for are:
Bit rate,
Number of data bits,
Number of stop bits,
Parity (odd, even, none)
Flow control (hardware or xon/xoff).

Are you using an UNO?
You can use Serial.print(ln) instructions.