How to use sensing without a delay

Hello, I am new to Arduino. I have an Arduino Uno R3. I wrote a code to control a robot that has 4 wheels (2 wheels/motors on each side) and 3 sensors (left, forward, and right). When the robot sensor sees something in the way, the robot backs up and turns a different direction.

When the motor goes into backup mode, the sensors stop sensing because of the delays. I am trying to figure out how to keep sensing while the motor is doing its backup mode. Then I could add a sensor in the back so the robot does not run into something while backing up.

I tried searching on the forums and found a thread about changing from delay() to millis(), but I could not make that work. Is there a better way? Here is the loop part of the code I am using.

void loop()                                  // Main loop auto-repeats
{     
    int irLeft = irDetect(11, 13, 38000);    // Check for object on left
    int irEdge = irDetect(10, 12, 38000);  // Check for an edge
    int irRight = irDetect(9, 8, 38000);     // Check for object on right

Serial.print("  leftEye = ");
    Serial.print(irLeft); 
    Serial.print("-irEdge = "); 
    Serial.print(irEdge); 
    Serial.print("-rightEye = "); 
    Serial.print(irRight); 
    Serial.println(" "); 
    delay(100);   

if ((irLeft == 1) && (irEdge == 1) && (irRight == 1))
      // Robot Forwards mode
    {
        motorA(1, 100);
        motorB(1, 100);
    }

else      // if ((irLeft == 0) || (irEdge == 0) || (irRight == 0))
     // Robot Backup mode 
   {

// stop the robot 
      motorA(0, 100);
      motorB(0, 100);
      delay(1000);

// go backwards
      motorA(2, 100);
      motorB(2, 100);
      delay(500);

// turn right
      motorA(0, 100);
      motorB(2, 100);
      delay(1000); 
    }
}

Is there a better way?

The blink without delay example and a state machine.

The robot is in some state, always - going forward, stopped, backing up, turning left, etc.