How to use time in if statements

Hey
I have a DS3231 time module and I want to make events happen based upon the time, but it can't read it as a variable and doesn't work. "invalid use of member function"

if (rtc.getTimeStr == 20:00:00){
}
thanks

What data type does rtc.getTimeStr() return ?
What data type is 20:00:00 ?

Hi there!

I have never used strings in Arduino before so forgive me if I say something wrong.

With string elements, a simple "==" command does not always work as intended, and some setup is needed before it will operate correctly. To compare two strings, the strings must be set up properly, like shown below.

stringTime = String("20:00:00");

stringRTC = rtc.getTimeStr; //Assuming this command returns a string

if(stringTime == stringRTC)
{

}

Try this and see if it works

willman:
Hey
I have a DS3231 time module and I want to make events happen based upon the time, but it can't read it as a variable and doesn't work. "invalid use of member function"

if (rtc.getTimeStr == 20:00:00){
}
thanks

Just guessing, but two things look sus. First, the syntax of the function call should be

rtc.getTimeStr()

Note the brackets.

Second, it looks like rtc.getTimeStr should return a string, so the comparison would look like this

if(rtc.getTimeStr() == "20:00:00"){}

Note the quotes.

Pogo

You haven't called the method, you've compared it!

To call the method, which is what you want, do this: rtc.getTimeStr()

string constants are surrounded by double quotes: "20:00:00"

If it returns a string, use strcmp. strcmp - C++ Reference

if (strcmp (rtc.getTimeStr(), "20:00:00") == 0)
  {
  }

This still won't do what you want, of course, as the test will fire every time round loop for a whole second
(which could be thousands of times). Study the StateChangeDetection example in the IDE.

You don't use == for string comparison, as its pointer equality, not value equality.