How to wire MSGEQ7 chip.

Hi, I'm new to arduino and I don't know how to wire the MSGEQ7 chip, I found this schema on the chip datasheet:

but I don't know how to interpret it I'm not an electronics engineer here is what i have understood:

|500x262

Can anyone please tell me if it is the correct way to wire the MSGEQ7 chip, did I make any mistake? also are the capacitors senses right?

Thank you in advance.

I've never used the MSGEQ7 but I've studied it a bit...

The manufacture's datasheet is always the best place to start.

The output (pin 3) is analog so it needs to go-to an Arduino analog input.

Probably the key to understanding the MSGEQ7 is the timing diagram which shows you how to use the Reset & Strobe inputs. They are both active negative-edge triggered.

The cycle starts with both inputs high and then you write a low to Reset and hold it low.

After a delay, write a low to Strobe and the Analog output represents the 63Hz band.

When you're ready, write a high to Strobe. Then low again. Now, the analog output represents the 160Hz, band.

After you're done with all 7 bands, start-over again with a new reset.

There are some minimum times so everything can get set up.

If you can’t wire it up get a ready built shield. It will have example code.

Hi and thank you for your answers,

Grumpy_Mike: If you can’t wire it up get a ready built shield. It will have example code.

I didn't know that a ready built shield exists, I have already bought the MSGEQ7 chip.

DVDdoug: Probably the key to understanding the MSGEQ7 is the timing diagram which shows you how to use the Reset & Strobe inputs. They are both active negative-edge triggered.

The cycle starts with both inputs high and then you write a low to Reset and hold it low.

After a delay, write a low to Strobe and the Analog output represents the 63Hz band.

When you're ready, write a high to Strobe. Then low again. Now, the analog output represents the 160Hz, band.