HVAC Control

Hello,

I have integrated an Ipad into my C5 Corvette (out of boredom) and due to lack of space on the dash, I'm going to have to relocate my climate control cluster.

I want to use an Arduino with a series of servos to either wirelessly or by cable, control the hvac cluster with some kind of interface on the Ipad. I'm new to Arduino, but I am a fast learner and would like to take on this project. If you guys have any suggestions, I'd love to hear them!

Thanks!

Dan Greenville, SC

After more thought, I'm conidering building a small container to house the factory controls for the climate control and arranging servos to be able to push the buttons on the panel. If I remove the hvac clusters faceplate, the small buttons on the board are easy to push, so I'm thinking micro servos should be able to do the job. I'm also wondering if I can use the servos to push one button turning clockwise, and push another button counterclockwise. I will need 5 servos set up with plungers to push the buttons in this manner, and 2 servos that can turn two dial knobs.

I know this may sound like an uncanny project, but I don't know any other way to do it.

I'm assuming I can possibly do this with an Arduino Uno and some time to learn the code. If anyone can point me in a direction to get started and what I may need to wirelessly communicate with the setup eventually with my Ipad, I would appreciate the help.

I'm not sure if anyone else has successfully got their Ipad to control their vehicles climate control, so maybe this can be the one of the first!

Thanks in advance!

Hi, The buttons should work OK.. But the rotary controls on cars (Pardon me for calling a Corvette just a 'car') are usually hard to rotate. Maybe to keep them secure from vibration.

How easy are yours to rotate? Servos are rated as Torque , usually in KG/cm. For example, look at this servo and click on the photo to see the torque ratings: http://goo.gl/sl2gA

Thanks for replying!