Hybrid Renewable Energy System

I’m wondering about the feasibility of a project I’m working on for school. I am creating a hybrid system that will integrate a 100-W solar panel, 400-W wind turbine, and a piston-driven turbine wave energy generator. Energy will be stored in a 12V deep cycle marine battery. The intended load is minimal (about 5-10 60-watt incandescent light bulbs.

I am looking into a similar project that was previously done. I have obtained most of the hardware from this older project but am wondering if using an arduino controller is my best bet.

Is there a way, or are there components that will allow me to use the Arduino as a charge controller/power monitor?

I hope this isn’t too out there. I’m a mechanical engineering student, my knowledge of electrical is limited. Please forgive.

The Arduino can certainly be used to monitor voltage and current, and also control relays or transistors to switch power sources. There are plenty of descriptions for each of these subtasks on the web, so start small and learn how to do each individual bit before combining it all together.

For such limited energy resources it seems silly to use inefficient incandescent bulbs.

Are you needing the incandescent bulbs as a load for the turbines for when the battery is fully charged? Where Leds would not have enough of a draw.

I hope this isn't too out there. I'm a mechanical engineering student, my knowledge of electrical is limited. Please forgive.

The best solution would be to partner-up with an electrical engineering student.

Unless you are actually building/fabricating the wind generator and the wave piston, this "feels like" an electrical/electronics project to me. There's nothing with a mechanical guy doing an electrical project, but this is a "big" project, and there's plenty of power to burn-up electrical components during development and debugging. :D