I am a Fine Art student looking for some help.

Hi,

towards my final year exhibition, I was thinking of creating breathing sculptures covered in fabric.
The 5 or so sculptures will vary in size, from a mouse size to a deer size.
My idea was to use a balloon that would imitate the expanding contracting movement with an arduino uno and a motorised air pump (does that exist?) or if that was too difficult, use servos to somehow imitate that movement.
I was looking for online resources and found rotating servos but I wasn’t quite sure which brands/ what price range/ how it would be made to work or if it would do what I wanted it to.
As I am completely new to Arduino, I really need some help on this project.
Please suggest me what equipment would best suit this project.

photo.JPG

you can also use some motors that move the fabric, by applying multiple motors you can do a "wave" of air.

Is it like this project ?
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=214474.msg

robtillaart,

Do you have any recommended servos?
I am thinking of leather as fabric - does that mean it will need a bigger servo?

Caltoa,

I am looking at that right now. The ideas using bellows pump seem ideal, but I am thinking of doing very small ones (mouse size) to very big ones (deer size).

no recommendations, smaller can make small moves larger ones can move bigger pieces.

Just buy 3 of different sizes and check what they can do. (is more fun too!)

Here's a suggestion: