I am new to this and need some help to see if a Arduino can do what I am thinkin

Hi I am a mechanical and I am trying to manipulate how a my truck locks the torque converter in 4 gear and I didn't know if there was was a way for an Arduino to use the speed of the truck with the throttle position to lock the converter up and have different values for different speed and throttle position for it to lock or unlock lock thanks

It is likely that an arduino is capable of the processing that will be required to do what you want.

The question is are there appropriate Arduino compatible sensors and actuators that allow the arduino to do the locking at the appropriate time.

I can't help you beyond that because I know little about torque converters in truck engines.

Perhaps a photo of the device on you engine and some idea of how much force is required to lock it might enable others in here to give you more specific help.

You should also be aware of the fine print in the Atmel microprocessor datasheets

Atmel products are not suitable for, and shall not be used in, automotive applications.

...R

Robin2:
You should also be aware of the fine print in the Atmel microprocessor datasheets
...R

Out of pure curiosity.....do you have any idea why that is?

I am guessing due to the high temperature in the engine bay.

But what if you were to locate the Arduino in the cabin under the dashboard and just run wires through to the engine?

boylesg:

Probably because they don't want to be sued when there is a car crash.

...R

boylesg:

I am guessing due to the high temperature in the engine bay.

But what if you were to locate the Arduino in the cabin under the dashboard and just run wires through to the engine?

It could just as easily be the notoriously dirty electrical environment.

Or the fact that they have a separate range of (presumably more expensive) automotive products?

Or the fact that they have a separate range of (presumably more expensive) automotive products?