I Can't Figure This Out... It Seems Sooooo Simple!! Code Included

Hi All,

I am new to the Arduino world. I am using a Mega 2560 R3. Below is my code. I know my code is wrong and I have tried so many things to get it to where I want it. I have an Op Amp circuit that is connected to pin A0. All I want to do is to have the LED on pin 13 light up when A0 senses sound. Then if pin A0 continues to sense sound, I DO NOT want pin 53 to turn on yet. If pin A0 does not sense any sound for 5 seconds, I want pin 53 to come on for 1 second and go off.

Right now, when pin A0 senses sound, the LED on pin 13 turns on for 5 seconds then goes off. Then pin 53 turns on for 1 second and goes off. If it senses sound again, the same thing happens.

This seems so simple but since I am new to this, I do not know what all the functions, variables, structures, etc are.

Please help me... Thanks!

const int microphonePin = 0; //the microphone positive terminal will connect to analog pin A0 to be read
const int ledPin = 13; //the code will flash the LED connected to pin 13

int sample; //the variable that will hold the value read from the microphone each time

const int threshold = 800; //the microphone threshold sound level at which the LED will turn on

void setup() {
  pinMode (ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode (53, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  sample = analogRead(microphonePin);
  Serial.println(sample);
  if (sample > threshold)
  {
    digitalWrite (ledPin, HIGH); //if the reading is greater than the threshold value, LED turns on
    delay (5000);
    {
      digitalWrite (ledPin, LOW);
      digitalWrite (53, HIGH);
      delay (1000);
      digitalWrite (53, LOW);
    }
  } else
  {
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
  }
}

First of all: reformat your code with proper indentation, the IDE can do that for you. This will help everybody understand your code better. Also use code tags </> to present code, you can edit your post accordingly. See the top entries on this forum.