I have a big art project in mind, but I am completely new at this.

Hi guys! I just received my Grove beginner kit, and I have big plans for the future.

I'm an art school student hoping to graduate in spring 2021 as a ceramicist and potter. For the graduation exhibition I plan to make hanging objects- like birds nests, or butterfly chrysalises from transparent porcelain, and put LED lights inside that suggest the object is alive, but in a deep slumber. it should be something subtle, and poetic.

I want the LEDs to pulse slowly, like there is a heartbeat. but that is just plan A.

Ideally, I plan to make many of these objects, and each should have a seperate heartbeat, they should not be synchronized.

And then, ideally, it would be great if something changes when it senses a visitor- maybe the heartbeat speeds up, the color of light changes, or it gets brighter.

And, I could also add ambient sounds to further add to the illusion.

Fortunately, I have time to learn how to do this, and some funds. I have never soldered before, and it worries me, and I will have to buy the tools. But if necessary, I think I should be able to learn that.

I have the Grove Beginner Kit for Arduino and 2 extra Chainable RGB LEDs. I expect to need a lot more than that, but what to order?

Can you please give me some pointers on how to get started on this? What is the best platform to use, what should I invest in to make one prototype LED system to begin with? What is the most cost effective? Thank you very much for reading this!

The page you linked to takes a ton of bandwidth - that said - seems to be a tutorial for the equipment - work through the tutorial - that will get you in the right direction - for the prototypes - do simple ones and one or two pulsing LED's etc - usually easy to scale up and better to learn on small then worry about the hardware a bit later -