I have an idea, looking for advice to get started

I am basically completely new to programming. I have a lot of experience with analog electronics, and experience with digital gates, and breadboarding. Knowing all that, I have been looking at the Arduino as a possible way to attact a project. The problem is I'm not even sure where to start. Most books I see seam to put a lot of emphasis on the hardware portion, which I am comfortable with. Hopefully someone can point me to some resources that can get me off the floor from a programming perspective.

So what I am trying to do it take two NMEA0183 sentences that are on the same serial port. Perform a simple math on a variable from each sentence, and output the value on a display. The display of my choice would be two 7-segment LED display. However I could live with an LCD if it was easier to start. The output value would never be larger than 90. I also would want an LED to signify positive or negative.

Thanks everyone that is willing to contribute, hopefully someone can at least confirm the Arduino should be able to meet my needs, and point me to some helpful resources to get started.

Brian

I would think that any Arduino would be able to do what you want. serial input basics will get you started with reading and parsing serial data. I think an I2C interfaced LCD will probably be the easiest display for a beginner.

Kb1cjp:
I am basically completely new to programming. I have a lot of experience with analog electronics, and experience with digital gates, and breadboarding. Knowing all that, I have been looking at the Arduino as a possible way to attact a project. The problem is I'm not even sure where to start. Most books I see seam to put a lot of emphasis on the hardware portion, which I am comfortable with. Hopefully someone can point me to some resources that can get me off the floor from a programming perspective.