I have an Idea that involves a broken cassette player.

Hey everyone! I am brand new to this stuff and I was looking for some guidance on a project idea I had. I want to take a broken cassette player apart and turn it into an mp3 player. I am a sucker for chunky buttons and nice clicks so I would love to use the buttons to control the player.
My original idea before being directed to Arduino would be taking apart a cheap mp3 player and splicing the buttons to the original terminals of the player. That way it would be a mostly hardware project. I am wondering if this project is viable to pursue or if anyone knows of any other projects that I could look at for guidance.
Thanks in advance,
Neb

The problem is most of the cassette buttons are mechanical ; you’ll need to get inside and configure some form of electrical switch for each button , then go from there

That's the tricky part! Would mounting smaller buttons at the end of the big buttons work? Like a momentary button?

Many Projects and products in your home work that way. For example, my doorbell has a large plastic button that People press to ring the bell. However, that button is purely mechanical and does nothing more than Transfer the pushing onto a mini Switch soldered onto a Printed circuit board deeper inside the module.

Ah, thanks for the tip! There is just something satisfying when you push a chunky button. In your opinions should I use for the brains of the project? I honestly don't think an Arduino can decode mp3s. Should I just go with my original idea of gutting a cheap mp3 and wiring it to the case or have you guys heard of an Arduino powered mp3 player? In my research, I have found a majority of web-based music players.

My friend Matt had a similar idea a few years back. He used a Pi to get an old cassette deck to play his Spotify playlists. He also repurposed the buttons, but it's not clear how he did it. He is not a member here, but I can contact him if you need. He is a busy man these days.