I have bricked 2 arduinos need advice.

I am new to electronics and robotics world, I am learning about making robots, motors and Arduino so please excuse me if I say something wrong.

I am doing a project of robot car 4x4 with johnny-five nodejs client for Arduino firmata firmware.

Main components used

1. Stonkraft robot chassis (StonKraft Kit de Montaje mecánico eléctrico 4WD | Ingeniería Experimentos de Ciencia DIY | Proyecto de construcción de circuitos | Chasis robótico de 4 Ruedas de Doble Capa con 4 Motores : Amazon.es: Juguetes y juegos)
  2. 4x dc motors 150 rpm
  3. Arduino UNO rev 3
  4. Raspberry Pi 3
  5. Adafruit motor shield v1 (Movilideas - Modulo Motor Driver Shield Controlador Servo L293D Puente H : Amazon.es: Electrónica)
  6. Battery for motor shield: (11v,3600mAh,40Wh,3s 30c)
  7. Powering and tethering Arduino via USB cable from raspberry pi 3
  8. Powering raspberry pi via battery pack 5v

Everything was working fine and suddenly I saw smoke coming from Arduino near the USB cable both times and both Arduinos don't work anymore.

My fear is that motor shield may also be powering Arduino already and then I am also powering it via USB cable because I need it to tether with raspberry pi over the serial port since I am using the johnny-five nodejs library for programming.

How can I not burn more Arduinos?
Is there some jumper on the motor shield that I have to change?

Wiring diagram

It will be hard for anyone to diagnose your issue given the detail provided. Wiring diagram will help.

However i'll take a stab...are you powering your devices from the Arduino? If so you may be exceeding the power capability of the arduinos voltage regulator. I've destroyed a few NANO by powering hungry devices directly from the arduinos power supply.

KrisKasprzak:
It will be hard for anyone to diagnose your issue given the detail provided. Wiring diagram will help.