I have killed my Arduino Uno already

I am brand new to the whole Arduino thing. I am using it to run a Nema stepper motor that winds up the weights to a clock that i have made. See it running here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-5UwqylNQ4

Initially i was using an old 4A 12V power supply that a mate gave me. Upon testing the power supply was unable to supply the 6A that was required. No surprise here.

I went to jaycar and purchased one of these https://www.jaycar.com.au/mean-well-150w-12v-12-5a-power-supply/p/MP3291.

I hooked up the new unit and it blew the arduino. The RX/TX chip was too hot to touch. HELP! Its the second unit that has been fried. I have checked th voltage at the arduino and it reads 11.7V or so. cheers Dean.

Nice clock. Looking at your circuit, the problem is …

Oh wait.

(there is no circuit shown)

No idea how it is wired without a diagram. You could be spiking voltage in many areas. The power supply you have shown is what is commonly used in arcade games.

Even with its 'protection' circuits (which mainly means for input surges), any circuit attached to it should still be regulated and isolated via transistor/caps for protection.

Hi
I noted you are still using the DuPont wiring in a hanging installation, I think you need to got to a proper soldered assembly.

Use a prototyping board like this to plug into the UNO and solder to the board.

Tom… :slight_smile:

proto.jpg

Hi, Have you got the current limit set on the stepper controller unit? If so to what value, the same as the supply or the motor?

Would you be able to change the chain ratio to produce more torque and less speed at the winch drum? Hence less drive current required.

Thanks.. Tom.. :)

Here is the only diagram i have used.

Have you got the current limit set on the stepper controller unit? Not sure. Where do you look?
If so to what value, the same as the supply or the motor?