I"m stumped, could someone help me?

Hello, my name is Alfonso. I would like to express gratitude in advance for any help or advice. I’m very new to programming but learning. I have recently embarked on a project and i have hit a wall. I am trying to emulate a product for less. Here is the link to the product.

https://www.wakemakers.com/go-surf-assist-aftermarket-surf-system.html

Here is my thought process. I already have bought trim tabs, and have custom fabbed similar devices but more aggressive from the link above. Here is were i come to a halt. The actuators are DC (without feed back) I was thinking of using a dual H-bridge to be able to reverse polarity, and with a potentiometer to control the position of the actuator. All while the 2 momentary switches control which actuator is activated.

Below I have included what i have so far.(keep in mind its very much a work in progress)

Thanks.

int pbutton = 11;         // port botton
int sbbutton = 12;        // Starboard botton 
int sbbuttonled = 2;      // Starboard botton led
int pbuttonled = 3;       // port botton
int pae = 10;             // port actuator enabble (PWM SIGNAL)
int pin1 = 9;             // port actuator fwd rev signal
int pin2 = 8;             // port actuator fwd rev signal
int sbae = 5;             // starboard actuator enabble (PWM SIGNAL)
int in3 = 7;              // starboard actuator fwd rev signal
int in4 = 6;              // starboard actuator fwd rev signal
#include <Servo.h>
Servo myservo;            // create servo object to control a servo
int potpin = 0;           // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer
int val;                  // variable to read the value from the analog pin

void setup() {            // put your setup code here, to run once:
  myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object

pinMode(pae, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(sbae, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in4, OUTPUT);