I need advice if arduino is the right choice for my project

Hi,
I want to built a midi controller for a synth and I'm not sure, if arduino is the right choice.
The controller will have:
1 40x4 lcd display
12 knobs
4 buttons
2 midi jacks
6 leds

The display should show various parameters for the knobs (like shape, Mod. source, etc) and turning the knob should send midi values over the midi jacks.

Here is a picture of it:

Is arduino the right choice for it? Can I connect so many knobs, etc. to 1 board? I looked at the arduino leonardo board and it has 20 inputs… How can I connect 12 knobs and all the other stuff to it?
And is the arduino fast enough to send instantly midi values?
And can I save enough information on it? I want to save 1000 int values (100 presets x ten parameter values) and some text (100 x 10 letters for the preset naming + menu text etc.).

As you can see, I'm not familiar with arduino. but I think I won't have any hugh problems with it, as I'm a software developer.

Thanks in advance!

I believe that the Arduino is capable of doing what you want. Since you have so many inputs, I would look into using Shift Registers; you can get away with only using a couple pins to read data from many inputs. So with 12 potentiometers and 4 buttons (16 total inputs), you could use two 8-bit shift registers or one 16-bit shift register. Then you could use an LCD shield, which should use the I2C pins on the Arduino (serial communication). And for the LEDs, since you still have a lot of outputs left over, you could simply use 6 outputs, or again, use another Shift Register for the LEDs.