I need an advice for a motor Driver

Hi,

I'm a newbie. And I'm using Arduino UNO

I need an advice about a driver which can be compatible with Arduino:

The motor is brushed, without sensors and rated for 500W at 24V continuous. At that load the current draw will be 26A. The motor may draw higher currents for short periods. So the controller should be rated for about 50A.

So 2x50A

I'll have two motors (one R and one L) so i need a two channel driver. and I need to go fw and reverse for both motors (even separately) and to use EMB brakes.

I'm also thinking about using two 50A single channel driver and synch them with Arduino, but honestly Idon't feel so safe and I prefer a dual channel. But feel free to post me links for both signle and dual channel driver.

Does anyone has experience in synch two singlre channel driver with Arduino

If there's something Arduino compatible > than 50A, post it too....

I need something reailable.

Any advice will be welcome.

What is the stall current - the driver should be able to handle this as a peak rating if the supply can
deliver it. For this size of motor stall currents are usually 10x rated currents.

Brushed motors never have sensors because they don't need electronic commutation, they
have a mechanical commutator.

A good driver for this size of motor would be one that has a presettable current limit, precisely
because the stall currents are so large (and risk burning things up. 50A as a max continuous
driver rating is about right, but its the peak currents that pop MOSFETs, not the rated currents.

What supply will you be using?

A wheelchair controller is about what you need, I know also that Roboteq do some suitable
controllers.

You may be able to get an Electronic Speed Control (ESC) designed for model airplanes. They can be controlled with the Arduino Servo library.

...R

Dear MarkT and Robin2,