I need help getting lights and sound to go simultaneously

I’m doing this project in school and I’m creating a replica police light and siren, and I’m having a problem getting the siren and the lights to play at the same time. Right now my code attached has the siren going first but when I press the button the lights wait until the siren is done making the sound and I’m not sure why because I thought sound and light are 2 separate outputs and should work at the same time

test.ino (1.51 KB)

delay (500);

If you want those things to both happen, then you can't tell the processor to stick its head in the sand for half a second and do nothing. Look at the "Blink Without Delay" example or the sticky thread with the example for several things at the same time. Either of those will show you how to check if it is time to do a thing instead of waiting until it is time to do it. That way you can keep doing other things while the one thing is running.

I'm no expert but I do believe that if you want two actions going on at the same time, you should avoid the use of delay() [Like delta said] as it tends to freeze up other processes. Being a tad more specific, I personally using the millis() function. Just define when you want something to happen:

end_time = millis()+my_delay;

and in the main loop use:
if(millis() > end_time) { start the lights up }

end_time = millis()+my_delay;

and in the main loop use:
if(millis() > end_time) { start the lights up }

Don't do it that way. That code has a bug in it. Millis gives you an unsigned long, so it eventually rolls back over to zero. With this code, you will have a huge problem when that happens.

Always use subtraction to calculate time periods. So that the rollover happens in the math too and things still work even when millis goes back to zero.

startTime = millis();

if(millis() - startTime > howLongToKeepDoingIt){