I need help with an IR transmitter, receiver, and a DC motor

I am extremely new to Arduino and for an assignment, I need to make an IR transmitter activate an IR Receiver, which will then start my DC motor. I need help with this asap, and I don't know how to do this whatsoever. I have tried to learn Arduino in my free time but I am having a lot of trouble. I currently own an Arduino Uno. Could someone tell me what I need to do, or write in my code? It would be much appreciated. Also, I do know it is possible to use a remote for this, but with my current goal, I cant use one.

P.S. I may have put this in the wrong forum section, so sorry about that.

IanPlayGames12:
I am extremely new to Arduino and for an assignment, I need to make an IR transmitter activate an IR Receiver, which will then start my DC motor. I need help with this asap, and I don't know how to do this whatsoever. I have tried to learn Arduino in my free time but I am having a lot of trouble. I currently own an Arduino Uno. Could someone tell me what I need to do, or write in my code? It would be much appreciated. Also, I do know it is possible to use a remote for this, but with my current goal, I cant use one.

A class assignment and you don't know what to do?
Have you been sleeping in class all this time?

F

Hah, no thats not the case. The class assignment is actually Science Olympiad. I need to create a Rube Goldberg machine that can only use certain tasks. I have it all done except for this which happens to be one of the tasks. We have to be creative for this rather than using things we learned in class. Actually this is being assigned to me from my Biology class

IanPlayGames12:

What kind of IR receiver do you have?