I need help...

Hey y'all,

I'm new to the Arduino world. Im working on a project that runs a PIR motion sensor to trigger a fan. I was wondering if there is a way I can wire the board to run the sensor then trigger on the fan? I'm making this unit self contained with a solar panel but I've got that figured out. Any help is appreciated! TIA

You may find it surprising but everyone here needs help so your title is not very informative.

If your title briefly describes your problem you are more likely to attract the attention of people with useful information. You can change the title by modifying your original post.

I was wondering if there is a way I can wire the board to run the sensor then trigger on the fan?

The short answer to that question is YES.

However you need to provide more information if you want a useful answer. For example post a link to the datasheet for the PIR you are using and explain how you envisage that the Arduino will control the fan - are you using a relay?

If you have written some code post it here so we can see it.

...R

Yes, you could do that.

Take a look at some of the examples to see how a switch (or digital sensor) is read (input), and how an output is turned-on.

I'd start by just turning-on the LED when the motion sensor is triggered.

Then, look for an example using a transistor or MOSFET to control a motor or fan. (The Arduino can't directly power a fan.)

Assuming you are new to programming, read-through the Arduino Language Reference. You won't understand it all or remember it all, but it will give you a good idea of what the Arduino can do. And, it's not that much to read through.

The two most important concepts in programming are conditional branching (such as if-statements) and loops (doing things over and over).