i/o expander shield // how to integrate in code

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to the world of Arduino, trying to learn the code to create my RF project.

Right now I have a basic script, that I’m trying to integrate with the Expander I/O shield module: http://learn.linksprite.com/arduino/shields/io-expander-shield-for-arduino/

The thing is, I don’t understand what is happening in the above installation.

This is the code I have so far, but i’m not sure if it all works. I’m just struggling to convert my current connections from the Arduino, to the I2C connection of the expander. The code isn’t great right now, but I cannot test and fix it without understanding the expander… online links don’t seem to help.

How can I use the pins in the example of my lcd declaration, led, buzzer etc?

transceiver_module.ino (8.22 KB)

chipset MCP23017 communicates with Arduino Uno

Search for examples of an MC23017 library there are a few of them. The examples that come with them should help you use it in your code.

Look up the data sheet for this chip, yes it will look overwhelming at first but you don’t have to understand it all to get a lot of insight into how it works.

I2C - pronounced eye squared cee, is a serial protocol that transfers data one binary bit at a time over two wires one for clock and the other for data. Lots of online tutorials about that.

Hi, thanks for replying.

I’ve taken a look at the Adafruit mcp23017 library and at a ‘button’ script. What confuses me are the comments at the top “connect pin…” and why the mcp pinmodes are using e.g. 0 and 5… aren’t these the standard pins D0-D13?

How could I connect the lcd, in this case, to pins DA6, DB0, DB3, DA5, DA4, DA3, DA2

Sample code:

#include <Wire.h>
#include "Adafruit_MCP23017.h"

// Basic pin reading and pullup test for the MCP23017 I/O expander
// public domain!

// Connect pin #12 of the expander to Analog 5 (i2c clock)
// Connect pin #13 of the expander to Analog 4 (i2c data)