I/R and Actuator Dilema

I apologize for my ignorance here but I am new to Arduino. I have a situation in which I need some device such as an IR or other mechanism to monitor activity/movement going past it. The goal is if the activity/movement stops the IR would sense this and send a signal to the controller where it would then in-turn activate a linear actuator. I have been told that the Arduino could do this, but again being new I'm not sure what direction to go or where to start. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated.

if the activity/movement stops

How long for? 1 millisecond, 1 second, 1 minute, 1 hour,... 1 year?

If you tell us what "activity" you're monitoring we'll promise not to tell anyone else. But it would be helpful in suggesting the proper sensor to use.

Thanks for getting back to me. To help understand my project here it is:

I have a wood pellet boiler which heats my house. In an effort to have an ample supply of pellets I built a storage hopper next to the boiler. The pellets are fed from the hopper to the boiler via an auger in a clear pvc tube. The pellets supply can be shut off from the hopper (in the event of a problem) by the use of an R/V type waste gate.

What I would like to do is attach an actuator to the gate arm so that I could control the operation of the gate via a controller which will be monitoring the fuel feed. The thought is that if the controller (possibly an I/R ) senses that no pellets are being fed down the auger tube it would send a signal to the actuator to close the gate where-by shutting down the fuel feed. If the system is allowed to run without pellets being fed it the causes a back draft where-by smoke fills the tube which then travels back to the storage bin and out into my house.

Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Is there some sort of window that light can shine through which could not get through if the chips are flowing?