I think I got myself in over my head.

Hey, all. First off, thank you for taking the time to read my topic and if you help, Thank you!.. I am new to the world of arduino and coding. How new? I picked up my first book last Friday from barns and noble and started trying to code on Sunday. So VERY new. I want to learn coding and I am starting to understand it. Now, my problem is the language I understand parts but its like learning a new language. You may know bits and pieces until someone that knows the language starts speaking it. :astonished: :drooling_face: :~

So a little background on the project. I am trying to create a proof of concept for an idea that will help third world countries keep wells clean and from wasting water. It’s a long story and I summed it up in one sentence. Now, I want to do this small scale before I try this on a real well that is a life line of a village.

The first part to my idea is a wireless rotary encoder sending through a arudino nano via 433mhz transmitter to another arudio nano controlling a motor (For the time being a servo). Now, the first part is why am I using a nano. I need to keep the unit as small as possible and as cheap as possible. If its not possible ill change to a uno or a mega and xbees. REMEMBER this is a proof of concept.

So I been spending hours and hours and hours looking up codes and trying to learn what everything does. I came up with this code below. This is for the transmitter.

First off I changed the transmitting and receiving pin and am using the encoder on another pin

/* Digital IO pin that will be used for receiving data from the receiver */
const int RX_DIO_Pin = 1;
int encoder0PinA = 13;
int encoder0PinB = 14;

so I can save my intercepts for another part of the project.

#include <VirtualWire.h>

/* Rotary encoder read  */
int encoder0PinA = 13;
int encoder0PinB = 14;
volatile int encoder0Pos = 0;
volatile int encoder0PinALast = LOW;
volatile int n = LOW;
int valNew = 0;
int valOld = 0;