I2c and interrupts for Sega Saturn light gun replacement for LCD TVs

Hi, this is my first post here. I am fairly new to Arduino and electronics in general. I have messed about with some simple stuff (LED blinker) but am now working on a small project to get a Sega Saturn light gun working on a modern LCD TV. I know there is another recent project out there but the creator appears to want to go down a commercial route and it will support other consoles too. I want to put this in the public domain. What follows is a lengthy explanation of how it works. My question is in the last couple of paragraphs.

I am working on replacing the insides of an official Sega Saturn light gun with an Arduino based solution so that I can use the gun with a modern LCD TV. Once I have a working version I will post more details somewhere for others to copy and/or improve it.

So far I have successfully wired an Arduino Nano to a Saturn controller cable and can issue 'Fire' and 'Start' button actions. By having the button actions controlled by the Arduino I can use the buttons for gun calibration without messing with the running game. I envisage it will also make it easy to add rapid fire and auto reload in future.

I use an IR positioning camera in a similar style to the Wii controller to establish where the gun is pointing. In tests it is fairly accurate although it currently doesn't support being move in relation to the TV or being rotated (for those gangsta type shooters). This can be improved but I will deal with that later.

I use an LM1441 to get the vsync and hsync from the composite TV signal and this allows me to create a signal that mimics the old scan-line detection when the screen flashes white. By counting the hsync signals for vertical positioning and using a timer for the horizontal position I can send a signal and it 'fires' at a given position on the screen. I will use the positional information from the camera to adjust when to fire this signal.