I2C and nrf24l01 at the same time?

Hi, I'm new in Arduino.

I'm doing a project using a DC motor controller with I2C controlled by an Arduino Mega. I want to add nrf24l01 transceivers to control the DC motor with a potentiometer connected in another arduino wirelessly. Without the I2C cables connected I received the data, but when I connect the I2C cables it stop to receive and the TX led turned off.

Can I use this two transmissions(I2C and nrf24l01) at the same time? I hope I have explained well. Thanks in advance

Hi, welcome to the forum.

Which library do you use for the NRF24L01 ?
Which pins do you use ?
How is it powered ? The ATmega2560 microcontroller on the Arduino Mega 2560 boards likes to have 5.0V, not 4.5V. If you power it with the USB cable only, the voltage might be too low.

The most common problems are a wrong sketch, or not enough power. With I2C and motors, there could be noise from the motors into the I2C wires, that will stop the sketch.

Peter thanks for your reply,

I'm using Mirf library, and is working very well without the I2C, and the I2C is working very well without the nrf24l01 with a preloaded sketch that move the DC for 3 sec and stop for 1 sec, but I want to control it wirelessly with a potentiometer.

With the I2C cables disconnected when I move the potentiometer the serial monitor in the other arduino registers the position of it. When I connect the I2C cables it stop to receive the data. I asked a proffesor and he said that it could be some interruptions or priority for the I2C or the nrf24l01.

But answering your questions, I'm using a Lipo 3C 5000 mah battery for the motors and a 9V battery for the arduino, my pins for the nrf24l01 are
CE -> 48 (defined in sketch)
CSN -> 49 (defined in sketch)
MISO -> 50
MOSI -> 51
SCK -> 52

The Arduino Wire library for I2C uses interrupts, but as far as I know, the NRF24L01 does everything inside the chip, and does not rely on interrupt timing.