I2C and pulse timing

For a datalogger system: I have a master Arduino which uses I2C to poll a number of slave Arduinos five times per second.

One of the slaves monitors a recurring pulse at one of its digital input pins. The frequency and mark/space ratio of the pulse varies. This slave Arduino is required to report the total "up" time in a specific interval, plus the number of "up" pulses in that interval (see postscript). For instance, if there is a 4ms pulse and a 1ms pulse, it will report two pulses, with a total up time of 5ms. Realistically I need to resolve the pulse durations to 0.5ms at most, preferably 0.1ms.

All this is simple enough to do, except for the I2C requests from the master.

The I2C requests from the master are asynchronous from the pulses monitored by the slave. In other words, they could arrive at any point in the timing/counting process being performed by the slave.

My concern is that the I2C requests will mess up the accurate timing of the monitored pulses.

As a relative newbie, I only know of two ways of achieving what I want. I could use pulseIn() to measure the injector pulse durations, or I could loop continuously and use micros() to timestamp each change of state on the input pin, doing the counting and summing after the sampling interval.

I assume both of these may be interrupted by an I2C request, which could then result in an inaccurate pulseIn() reading, or a delay in picking up the state change, which would give me an inaccurate measurement.

The Arduino documentation seems very light on things like this: for instance, which functions use interrupts, which will over-ride the other, and so on. Will pulseIn block I2C requests? Or will I2C requests interrupt pulseIn? I wish this were explained more explicitly.

Can anyone suggest how to time and count my pulses accurately, whilst still being able to respond to requests from the I2C master?

Thanks!

POSTSCRIPT - MORE DETAIL