I2C Communication Problem Between ESP32 and STM8

I have a ESP32-WROVER-E(master) and a STM8S003F3(slave). I set up I2C communication between them. I set STM8S I2C output clock frequency to 100KHz. ESP32 I2C clock frequency is the default(100KHz). But it doesn’t work. I used 10K, 4.7K and 1K pull-up resistors but nothing changed. If I set the ESP32 I2C clock frequency to 62.5KHz or lower, it works. I used Arduino Mega instead of ESP32. It worked without the need to adjust the I2C clock frequency. What would be the reason? Why ESP32 not working at 100KHz? What’s the difference between ESP32 and Arduino Mega?
Thank you in advance

The ESP32 might be too fast for the STM8. The Arduino Mega is slower with its overhead, and that creates small pauses on the I2C bus.
The Master always provides the clock pulses in all situations. You can set the Slave to any clock speed, it does not matter.

A processor running as I2C Slave might need some time.
Can you try this:

Wire.beginTransmission();
Wire.write( ...
Wire.endTransmission();

delay(1);

Wire.requestFrom( ...

Thank you for reply, Koepel. I tried but it didn't work. Do you have any other solutions?

No, sorry. I have no clue :frowning:
Can you read the next things ? Which one stands out ?

Timing

They are both processors and there might be software/hardware timing differences. Perhaps the STM8 is too fast and a glitch by the ESP32 is seen as a pulse. Some boards produce glitches on the I2C bus, and no one cares when they are in a location that does no harm.
The ATmega2560 microcontroller (on the Mega board) has a slew-rate limiter for the outgoing signals and a filter for the incoming signals of the I2C bus (inside the chip). That can make a difference.

I think the ESP32 supports clock pulse stretching to about 10ms if I remember it correctly.
The Mega fully supports clock pulse stretching and the STM8 uses that.
Making the ESP32 work by lowering the clock does not indicate a problem with clock pulse stretching.