I2C help, please

I have a Wemos d1 mini (master) that sends a filename over I2C to an Arduino Uno with an Adafruit Audio Shield. If the Uno finds the wav file on the SD card, it plays the file.

Works great.

However, I would like for the Uno to be able to tell the Wemos if the file couldn't be found.

(The code is over 1,000 lines, so I'll only post it if requested.)

Here's what I've tried.
In the Master,
In setup()

Wire.begin(D1, D2); //join i2c bus with SDA=D1 and SCL=D2

in loop()

getMsgFromSlave(); // Do we have something from the slave?

And this is the getMsgFromSlave function:

void getMsgFromSlave() {
  //Let's see if the Slave has anything for us
  int k = 0;
  slaveMsg[0] = '\0';

byte n = Wire.requestFrom(8, 1);       // request 1 byte from slave device #8
  while (Wire.available()) {
    slaveMsg[k++] = Wire.read();
  }
  slaveMsg[k] = '\0';                            // Terminate as a string
}

Now the slave code:

In setup:

Wire.begin(8);                               //join i2c bus as slave, address #8
  Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent);                //register receive event
  Wire.onRequest(requestEvent);                //register request event

As I said, receiveEvent works great.

Now, here's the problem. When the master executes a Wire.requestFrom() to the slave, the slave gets into an unidentified state (I.E., it stops working).

Here is the requestEvent() code on the slave:

void requestEvent() {
  Wire.write(masterData);                 // send string on request.
  masterData[0] = '\0';                   // Erase masterData.
}

masterData is a char array.

char masterData[3];

Even when the requestEvent() function is nothing...

void requestEvent() {
}

the slave still stops working.

Any tips on where I should be looking would be appreciated. Could I make both processors a master?

Thanks

The Wire library of the ESP8266 is a software implementation and might not support clock stretching.