I2C LCD using MCP23008

In this page on the playground:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/I2CPortExpanderAndLCDs

There is a schematic for using the MCP23008 as an I2C controller for an LCD display. There is this schematic:

I'm relatively new to interfacing with LCDs. Can someone answer some questions?

1) What's the purpose of Q1? It's connected to LED GND. Is that the backlight on the display?

2) A variable resistor is shown on the contrast pin (R4). No value is given. What would be appropriate?

3) A bypass cap, C1, is shown. I'm guessing a standard-issue .1uF ceramic would be appropriate?

OK, I’ll take a stab at this -

#1, Q1 could be for control - to switch LCD backlight OFF/On at command - perhaps to flash display in alarm condition?

#2. value isn’t critical - perhaps 1K? 10K max. try and see - won’t hurt anything.

#3. Yep, .1uF would be just fine as a bypass cap.

Ken H>

Q1 is normally controlled by a PWM signal to control backlight intensity. This of course could also be used to flash the LCD but thats not what its normally used for. Setting the PWM value between 0 and 255 gives you a 0 to 100% brightness. The resistor is used to control the current. On the LCDs that I am using, 150 ohms is a good choice.

Q1 would normally be a darlington transistor such as a TIP120 but any transistor that can handle the current required by the backlight would work fine.

In this case since you are having to "send" data in order to change it, it is probably just used for backlight ON/OFF

Mark

So, if I only care about on/off (i.e. not PWM control of brightness) is there any harm in connecting the LED_GND to GND, and LED_VCC to a pin on the MCP23008 directly?

is there any harm in connecting the LED_GND to GND, and LED_VCC to a pin on the MCP23008 directly?

Don’t forget the 15R series resistor.
How much current is this going to take, I would think it would be too much for just a raw arduino pin.