I2C multi master comminication

I have a Multi master setup directed to a single slave with a Ethernet connection to send data from position x and position y to the server, but when both (by accident) sends data at the same time only one of the masters data is received, is there a way to add a check/ delay to ensure that both communications go through?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Have the receiving end send back a "got it!" type of message.
If answer is not received, retry the transmission.

I strongly guess you’ve chosen the wrong connection method by using I2C. Why did you choose I2C? Why do you need two Arduinos?

I think you have this backwards - I'd use a single master with the ethernet, and have the other two be slaves and have the ethernet-bearing master grab the data from data gathering slaves, instead of the other way around.

wvmarle:
Have the receiving end send back a "got it!" type of message.
If answer is not received, retry the transmission.

A slave cannot initiate the communication though.

The basic Arduino library doesn't do multi master. As far as I know, nobody has published a version that does.

Have you checked the result of endTransmission()?

DrAzzy:
A slave cannot initiate the communication though.

I know, never implied it does.
Master sends message, slave replies to the master - commonly with a piece of requested data, in this case with an acknowledgement. That's how master knows that its transmission has been received.

The I2C sniffer already uses the ACK feedback of the protocol. If no slave responds to an address, no ACK signal is generated and the transmission terminates with an error.

As the lines are shared, in this case the master may not be listened to, but still receive an ack which was meant for the other master. So it should be something more unique.

wvmarle:
As the lines are shared, in this case the master may not be listened to, but still receive an ack which was meant for the other master.