I2C Scanner stuck on Scanning ...

Board: Pro Mini 5V (third party)
oLED: Here

Attempting to connect oLED to Arduino. Running I2C scan and it’s just stuck on scanning if the board is connected. If the board is not connected, it says, ‘No I2C devices found’

I’m using SDA to A4, SCL to A5. There are two 10k resistors in the SDA, SCL path - pullup resistors? Not sure. I attempted with/without with the same outcome. I’ve tried soldering for better connections, same result. It will sometimes output ‘Unknown error at address 0x01’, 2, 3 etc. but freezes after a few (random ranges).

I’m very new to arduino. Any help is appreciated. I’ve wasted hours trying to figure this out, getting very frustrated.

Photos attached.

Photos

Running I2C scan and it's just stuck on scanning if the board is connected. If the board is not connected, it says, 'No I2C devices found'

This is a typical symptom of SDA/SCL shorted to each other or ground. Look very carefully for any solder bridges or other possible problems

The OLED displays work with 3.3V. This one seems to be compatible with 5V, but I don’t know how reliable that information is.

A resistor in the signal path will not work.
I think you have a resistor in the same row of the breadboard, the pins of that row are already connected to each other.

Can you connect a 10k resistor to SDA and 5V.
And also a 10k resistor to SCL and 5V.
When the I2C bus is not active, then those resistors will pull the signal to 5V. That’s why they are called pullup resistors.

I have my doubts with the soldering of the pins A4 and A5 on the Pro Mini board.
There are clone Nano boards with a CH340G usb-serial chip that have the A4 and A5 along the side, and A6 and A7 somewhere in the board.

I don’t use Pro Mini boards anymore. When I want to change a sketch, then I have to search for the usb-serial board. A small Arduino board with a usb connector is easier.

@cattledog