i2C Stall: Nano and VL53L0X

Hi,

I’m a complete beginner with arduino and DIY-tech, so I set out to give it a try.

I bought the following:

1. Arduino Nano (?clone)
  2. VL53L0X time-of-flight sensor
  3. Small breadboard + wires
  4. USB-powered solder kit.

So far:
→ Pins are soldered on
→ IDE is installed
→ Blink program runs without problem (compiled as ATmega328P (old Bootloader), since the ATmega328P produced a compile error)

Problem is:
→ When i wire the VL53L0X through the breadboard (as shown in attached pictures),
I get no output from the sensor on two programs:

1. Adafruit VL53L0X (downloaded from the library)
  2. i2Cdetect

→ Both programs show evidence of successful upload, but the sensor seems to give no feedback.
→ What is interesting is that the i2Cdetect stalls completely, with no run through the range. However, when i removed the SDA wire (as shown in the last photo, it will run through the range, only showing no input, since the wire is removed)

My Question:
→ Does anyone have the knowledge of what may be causing this?
→ With a search online, the forums, and some attempt at logic I can only guess that it is a power issue or the sensor itself is defective. My soldering is not the neatest, but I have inspected closely and given it a second-run with no change.

Attached:
→ 3 screenshots (the run of Adafruit VL530L0X, the run of i2Cdetect with SDA connected to sensor, the run of i2Cdetect with SDA disconnected)

→ 2 photos (the wiring setup, the SDA disconnected as in the 3rd screenshot)

Any advice is much appreciated.

(deleted)

Indeed, my “first-time-soldering” is far from aesthetic :slight_smile: - however, on close inspection there is definite contact with the whole surface of the relevant PCB connections - i reckon this points to something more complex than the pins, however I will get some more practice in at the soldering too!

Thanks for the input.

(deleted)

deadboard: