I2C with MAX14662

Folks, I’m a bit new to this…
I’m playing with a Maxim MAX14662 I2C controlled 8-way SPST switch.
I thought it would be brain-dead simple as:

#include <Wire.h>
void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();
  Wire.beginTransmission(0x4C);  //addr of device
  Wire.write(0x00);              //point to loc
  Wire.write(0x77);              //write data to loc
  Wire.endTransmission();        //give up line

delay(1000);

Wire.beginTransmission(0x4C);  //addr of device
  Wire.write(0x00);              //point to loc
  Wire.requestFrom(0x4C, 1);     //set up read
  byte regVal = Wire.read();     //read
  Wire.endTransmission();        //give up line

Serial.println(regVal);        //print 
}

void loop()
{
}

But all I get as output is 0.

I’m fairly certain about the hardware since I was able to get a TMP112 temp sensor working.
The datasheet table 3 has me a confused with read/write addrs of 0x99 and 0x98. Not sure what
to do with these.

Thoughts/Comments/Flames?

Have you run the i2cbus scanner sketch? It will show you what is on the bus.

The 0x99/0x98 are the 8 bit address of the chip which includes the R/~W bit. The Wire library uses "7 bit addressing" so if you shift those by 1 bit, you get the address 0x4C. Reading always has the LSB set so when reading, the 8 bit address is always one more than the write address.

This all assumes you have AD0 and AD1 tied low (Pin 23 & 28). You also need pin 1 low to put it into I2C mode and pin 22 HIGH so it is not in shut-down.

scanner does say it’s out there:

Scanning…
I2C device found at address 0x4A !
I2C device found at address 0x4C !
done

4A is the TMP112
4C is the MAX14662

I think this is all about timing.
When I put the same code in a loop with a 1000ms delay, I get all 0’s

If I decrease the delay to 10ms I get (mostly) all 119’s

It appears that the register is resetting. By placing the write in the loop with a very short delay,